Join a Meeting Using a Browser

Join a Meeting Using a Browser

Anyone, both Cymbus users and guest users, can use a web browser to access Cymbus meetings on the desktop computer. Joining using a browser on mobile phones is not supported.

Supported web browsers are: Google Chrome, Safari and Microsoft Edge.

Users with a browser will have access to everything except participating or downloading a whiteboard session. Users with a browser can only view a whiteboard session.

No host control for browser

If you are a meeting host, it is recommended to use the Cymbus app instead of a browser. There is no host control for browser access; meaning you won't be able to perform host tasks such as muting other participants.

Join Using a Browser

Users need to provide a permission via browser to access their microphone, speaker, and camera.

  1. In the meeting invite, take note of the passcode. A passcode is included in the invite if enabled by the host.

  2. Click a meeting link in the invite. If you only have a meeting ID, go to https://meet.cymbus.com/.

  3. Click Cancel when the browser displays a pop-up asking if you want to open URL:Cymbus.

  4. On the Welcome to Cymbus page, click Join from your browser.

  5. Enter your display name for the host and other participants to see. If preferred, enable Remember me on this device to save your display name and audio/video preferences for future meetings.

  6. Click Join Meeting to proceed.

  7. If prompted, enter the passcode, then click Join a Meeting to proceed.

  8. Click Allow to give the browser a permission to access your camera and microphone.

  9. In the preview dialog, set meeting preferences such as mute, background blur, and camera.

  10. When ready, select Join Meeting.

    You are in the meeting.

Once you are in the meeting, do not refresh your browser; you will get kicked out of the meeting and the Welcome to Cymbus page opens again in the browser.

Browser Meeting Console

Once you are in the meeting, you will see the meeting console with these buttons at the bottom of your browser:

Display

  • View. You can change the layout between Gallery and Speaker. Gallery shows tiles of equal size. Speaker displays an active speaker in the center.

  • Pin for Me. Choose one participant to always show in your video feed. This does not affect what other participants see.

    • To pin someone, locate the person in your video feed, then select More > Pin for Me.

    • To unpin, repeat the same and select Unpin.

  • Hide Self View. Use this if you don't want to look at yourself during a meeting. Select View in the top right corner, and select Hide Self View.

Chat

You can send messages to all the participants. All chat messages will be visible to participants even when they join late. However, the chat messages will not be available after the meeting ends. No export of chat history supported; participants can copy each message during a meeting.

Share Your Screen Using a Browser

You can share your whole screen, a browser tab, or a window of a specific application running on your computer.

On Mac, you must give your browser the permission to share your screen. It is recommended to do so before you join a meeting because when you are using a browser, you need to leave the meeting in order to give the Screen Recording permission, then join back to the meeting to start screenshare. To give the browser a permission, go to Mac System Preferences and select Security & Privacy. Select Screen Recording on the left, and select the browser to give the permission. The dialog says your screen will be recorded; however, for Cymbus meetings, your screen will be only shared to other participants, and it will not be recorded.

To start screenshare using a browser:

  1. Select Share in the meeting console.

  2. Choose a browser tab, a window of a specific application, or an entire screen to share.

  3. Select Share. When sharing a browser tab, the browser indicates which tab is being shared.

    When sharing a window or screen, a small pop-up appears at the bottom of your screen. The device displays no indication regarding which window or screen is being shared.

To stop sharing:

  1. Select Stop Share in the meeting console or select Stop sharing in the pop-up.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful