Messaging

Use the Messages tab to exchange messages with the contacts on your Company list, either via Direct Messages or via Channels.

Search

The Search field in Messages filters direct messages and channels as you type.

No searching content

The app does not search content of the messages; it only searches contact names and channel names.

Messages

  • Send. On the desktop app, pressing Enter sends the message. To start a new line within a message, press Shift + Enter. On the mobile app, tapping the Send icon sends the message. To start a new line within a message, tap the return key on the on-screen keyboard.

  • Copy. On the desktop app, you can copy part of a message or multiple messages. On the mobile app, you can only copy the whole message, one by one.

  • Delete or Edit. You can delete or edit a message within five minutes of sending. On the desktop app, hover over the message and select More > Delete or Edit. On the mobile app, long-press the message then select Delete or Edit. The recipient will see (Message deleted) or (edited), but they won't receive a notification for the edited message.

  • Insert emoji. You can add an emoji in your message by selecting from an emoji list. On the desktop app only, an emoji can be added by typing a code such as :laughing:. To find an emoji code, select the smiley face icon in the text field to open the emoji list, and hover over the emoji. The code appears at the bottom.
    emojiCode.png

Mentions

Tag someone in a message to get their attention. Type @ and select a name by using the arrow keys or the mouse. The mentioned person will be notified via a badge on the channel, and via a notification if they've set to receive notifications for mentions. Type @channel to tag everyone in the channel both online and offline.

When mentioning people, the Cymbus app will show if each user is already in the channel. If they are not, you have an option to add and mention the person with one click.

mentions-not-in-channel.png

Reactions

Respond to messages with emoji reactions.

Add a Reaction

  1. Hover over (desktop) or long-press (mobile) the message you want to add a reaction to.
  2. Select the smiley face icon to open the list. 
    Reactions_Add_Desktop.png
  3. Use the icons to browse categories or the search field to find something specific. On the mobile app, you can swipe up to expand the list, or swipe down to close it.
  4. Select an emoji to add it to the message.

Remove a Reaction

To remove a reaction you added, select the emoji.

Emoji Skin Tone

On the desktop app only, you can set a skin tone. Open the emoji menu and click the circle on the bottom right to select a skin tone.

Reactions_SetDefaultSkinTone.png

Channels

All users are added to the General channel. Anyone can create a channel both public and private. Anyone in your organization can join a public channel by searching. On the other hand, private channels are invite-only and do not appear in search results unless you are already part of it. Once a channel is created, it cannot be converted from public to private, or vice versa.

list-channels.png

Join a Channel

  • Public Channel: To search for and join a public channel, use the Search field and scroll down the list. You can view the most recent messages in a channel before joining. Once you join, you will receive notifications on new messages and will be able to post a message in the channel.
  • Private Channel: You automatically join a private channel when someone invites you to it. Your Cymbus app shows the private channel on the  Messages tab with a lock icon, and you receive notifications on new messages in the channel.

Set Channel Notifications

For each channel you join, you can customize what items you want to receive notifications for. See Cymbus App Notifications for details.

Add People to a Channel

To add people to a channel, open the Channel Details page as described above and select the Members tab. Type in names and select Add.

If you are adding a member to a private channel, new members will be able to view previous messages.

Create a Channel

When you create a new channel, you are the channel owner. Only the channel owner can change its name and description.

  1. In Messages, select the + button next to Channels.

  2. Type a channel name, and add people by typing their names.

  3. If you want to make the channel private, toggle on Set to private.

  4. Select Create.

Delete or Archive a Channel

Once a channel is created, no one can delete or archive it; however, any and all members can leave a channel. The channel description can be edited by the owner to indicate it's no longer active.

To leave a channel so that it continues without you:

  • On the desktop app, hover over the channel to reveal More and select Leave Channel.

  • On the mobile app, open the channel and tap the channel name, and select Settings > Leave Channel.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful